Archive for danish metal bands

RISING – Danish Metal Outfit Announces New Lineup; Recording Of Third Album Confirmed For This Fall

Posted in Heavy Metal, Metal, Music, rock music with tags , , , on June 10, 2015 by Metal Odyssey

Rising - promo band pic - Danish Metal Band - 2015 - #061015RMOSW

Danish metal combo, RISING, has reformed with a new full-time studio and live lineup, and will return to the scene in 2015 with new live performances and the recording of their third LP.

Since the band’s formation in 2008 and the release of their self-titled debut EP in 2009, RISING has been an incredibly promising and uncompromising act on the metal scene, both locally and internationally. After two DIY EPs, the band displayed their relentless, crushing sound, fierce musicianship and a strong sense for melody and songwriting on two full-length albums, To Solemn Ash (2011) and Abominor (2013).

RISING backed the initial EPs and the debut album with several tours in Denmark and mainland Europe, along with festival appearances such as Roskilde, Copenhell and Hultsfred. Yet, as momentum was building, so was also tension within the band and just after the recording of Abominor, the trio disbanded, leaving the future of RISING and the new album uncertain. Abominor subsequently saw its release on guitarist Jacob Krogholt’s newly founded label Indisciplinarian, but no shows we’re played in connection with the release.

Unwillingly seeing the band dissolved, main composer Krogholt quickly teamed up with original drummer Martin Niemann, a member between 2008 and 2010, with the intention of carrying on the band, if the original chemistry of the two founding members remained intact. The initial jams in the fall of 2013 proved that the spark was indeed present and over the next year and a half the duo wrote a wide variety of material, which was to be the backbone of the next album. Along the way, several musicians were tried out, in December 2014 new members started to enter the band. Now, after two years of writing, demoing and trying out new musicians for the band, the new RISING lineup is finally complete.

RISING 2015:
Morten Grønnegaard – Vocals
Jacob Krogholt – Guitars
Carl Peter – Guitars
Bjarke Lassen – Bass
Martin Niemann – Drums

Rising - Band Logo - 2015 - #061015SMORHY

RISING has written eleven new songs planned for the band’s third album, which is to be recorded in August with producer Jacob Bredahl (By The Patient, The Kandidate, etc.) at his Dead Rat Studios in Aarhus, Denmark. The album will be mixed by notable American metal producer Sanford Parker (Woven Hand, Minsk, Indian, etc.) and mastered by the Brad Boatright (Sleep, Nails, Beastmilk) at Audiosiege.

The new material is undeniably RISING‘s core sound, filled with the crushing heaviness and melodic sensibilities inherited in Jacob Krogholt’s riffing and songwriting fiercely pushed onwards by Martin Niemann’s aggressive and dynamic drumming, yet fresh sonic elements are introduced by the new members of the band. Firstly, the most notable change to the sound is new lead singer Morten Grønnegaard and his melodic, yet still raw and powerful approach, handing the band and the forthcoming album a broader appeal and a more diverse expression. Carl Peter’s entrance as guitarist marks an expansion of the RISING sound, adding strength, more textures and classic twin guitar work, and along with Bjarke Lassen’s organic and heavy bass work, RISING of today is a band with an intact crushing energy, yet with bigger variation and dynamics.

RISING‘s as-yet-untitled third album is expected to be released in the spring of 2016, backed by touring in Denmark and abroad. As for now, the band is hard at work finalizing the album pre-production, and is planning a few Danish comeback shows in November after the album recordings, which will mark the first live appearances from the band in two-and-a-half years.

Instrumental demo excerpts of several new RISING songs can be streamed throughout June RIGHT HERE.

In the US, Earsplit Distro is exclusively carrying RISING’s Abominor LP HERE, and also carries the To Solemn Ash LP HERE and CD HERE. RISING’s full line of merch and releases can be ordered internationally via the Indisciplinarian webshop HERE.


Source: Earsplit PR







SYLVATICA Album Debut “Evil Seeds” Releasing July 1st – Melodic Death Metal From Denmark

Posted in Heavy Metal, metal music, music news, rock music, rock music news with tags , , , , , , on June 13, 2014 by Metal Odyssey

Sylvatica - Evil Seeds - promo cover pic - 2014

SYLVATICA – On July 1st, Denmark’s Melodic Death Metal warriors, SYLVATICA, will be releasing their debut/self-financed album: Evil Seeds. This feature post will introduce you to SYLVATICA and give you a taste of their killer Metal sound as well (see below). Make sure to click on the web-links for SYLVATICA (at bottom of post) to learn more about this fabulous Metal band! Support SYLVATICA and Metal be thy name. – Stone


EVIL SEEDS – Track Listing:

01. Lost
02. Psychopatica
03. Winds Of Decay
04. The Ascension
05. Evil Seeds
06. God Of The Gallows
07. Hate Quest
08. Lucifer
09. Reanimated
10. The Sludge Soup
11. Sect Of Sleep

Get Your Metal Senses Scorched From Evil Seeds, Below! Metal Be Thy Name!

SYLVATICA – Band Biography:

SYLVATICA started as a folkish Black Metal project in the year 2009 by friends Pelle Buch and Rasmus Kaibe, who, while listening to Svartsot, in a drunken haze decided that they wanted to start a Folk Metal band. Realizing that none of them could play flute and they needed a guitarist, they called Jardén Schlesinger the same night and he was added to the “line-up”… after that the flute was scrapped.

The first SYLVATICA release was the song Mjölner og Mjöd, which quickly became a local hit in their hometown Nyborg, even though it was very poorly recorded and mixed, by Kaibes bigger brother, they started getting a name for themselves, and after a couple of line-up changes, SYLVATICA recorded their first EP / demo Sagn og Sagaer in late 2010 with the new line-up, consisting of Jardén Schlesinger and Jannik Ravn on guitars, Thomas Haxen, replacing Kaibe, on bass and Pelle Buch on drums. This release earned the band live jobs with Vanir and Svartsot.

Sylvatica - band logo - B&W - 2014 - #100

After a couple of months, the band decided in the summer of 2011 to record a new EP / demo called Mosemanden, but this time without Jannik, who decided to leave the band. For the promotional live shows after the recording, the band took in guitarist Thor Stokholm, who filled in for Jannik for a few shows untill they found a permanent replacement in Martin Hamann, who joined the band just before the Mjød og Mædl tour in 2011. After 2012 Martin Hamann was no longer a part of SYLVATICA.

Having toured all of Denmark in 2011 and 2012, the band has now gradually upgraded itself from a spare-time hobby to a fully fledged band, looked for a label to support its debut album, which ended in a self-financed release situation.

The band has, however, not stepped back in regards to live performances, still actively playing concerts whenever possible, the band is both playing nationally and abroad, if possible. So keep your eyes open, SYLVATICA might just one day bring the swamps to your doorstep, and deliver a show you won’t soon forget.

Sylvatica - band promo pic - 2014 - #9959


Jardén Schlesinger – Guitars and Vocals
Thomas Haxen – Bass
Pelle Buch – Drums
(Richardt Olsen – Live guitars)



* For more info on SYLVATICA:




MetalMessage - large logo - red - 2013

Stone - Motorhead Tee  pic:small





%d bloggers like this: