Archive for female metal bands

METALOCALYPSTICK: Canada’s Premier Women Focused Metal Festival Announces 2019 Lineup w/ Lost Nebula, Interitum, Massive Scar Era and more!

Posted in Hard Rock, Heavy Metal, Metal, metal music, Music, music news, music videos, news, rock music, world news with tags , , , , , , , on April 9, 2019 by Metal Odyssey

Happening on: June 29-30 – Lone Butte, BC

Lone Butte, BC, Canada will once again be shaken by the sounds of heavy metal on Canada Day weekend with the 2019 edition of Metalocalypstick Festival. Over the course of the weekend, 22 bands will take the stage, each featuring at least one woman in a show of feminine power across metal, punk and rock.

This year, bands from Canada, Tasmania, Mexico, Egypt and USA will gather for the one of a kind festival in the Canadian wilds. The non-profit organization is dedicated to giving back to the community and donating 100% of the proceeds to local charities including Girls Rock Camp and the Vancouver Rape Relief and Women’s Shelter. Each year an independent band is also sponsored by the festival to further their musical pursuits.

Spotify Playlist here – Festival Digital Sampler of 2019 Performing Bands – Metal Queens Vol. 3

Promo video (clips from 2017):

The lineup for 2019 includes:

Attack The Fire (Vancouver)
Call Of The Siren (Edmonton)
Chaos Century (Vancouver)
Crimson Caliber (Medicine Hat)
Fallen Stars (Vancouver)
Forsaken Rite (Edmonton)
Interitum (Launceston, Tasmania)
Kayas (Vancouver)
Kelevra (Regina)
Kosm (Vancouver)
Lost Nebula (Hermosillo, Mexico)
Massive Scar Era (Vancouver/ Cairo, Egypt)
Obsidian (Vancouver)
Ophelia Falling (Vancouver)
Orchestry (BC)
Sins Of Sorrow (Edmonton)
Siren’s Rain (Puget Sound, USA)
Subterranea (Toronto)
Sugar Wash (Edmonton)
The Shit Talkers (Vancouver)
Violent Betty (Saskatoon)
The Vth Circle (Vancouver)

Tickets for the event and more information is available through the official website:


Featured in publications such as Metal Hammer and Billboard, Metalocalypstick Fest not only celebrates women in metal but also gives back to the community. Formed in 2016 as a non-profit organization, they are dedicated to raising funds and donating 100% of proceeds to local charities Girls Rock Camp, Vancouver Rape Relief and Women’s Shelter, and Earth Protectors plus they sponsor an independent band picked by Metalocalypstick Fest judges.

The festival was founded by Kaija Kinney of Vancouver’s Anarcheon after researching a lack of female based metal festivals to apply her band to, Kinney took matters into in her own and decided to produce the event.

“This festival means the celebration of both sexes coming together and creating something amazing. People like to say women in metal aren’t a big deal anymore and that we are all the same. I feel that is untrue, this is still a male dominated world and woman are still looked as lesser. I want to showcase all these bad ass ladies and celebrate the differences of men and woman rather than pretend we are all equal. Truth is we are different why can’t we celebrate that?” says Kinney.

Festival Location:
Lone Butte Community Hall
5994 Hwy. 24
Lone Butte, BC

Billboard Magazine: Canada’s Metalocalypstick Fest Will Celebrate Women in Rock While Giving Back 
Vancouver Sun: Metalocalypstick Festival showcases women of metal

2019 Partners:

Absolute Underground Mag
Atonita Draws
Asher Media Relations
Broken Neck Radio
Metal Devastation Radio
Metal Master Kingdom
Pabst Blue Ribbon
Prairie Fire Events
Pure Rock Radio
Whitelf Films




NERVOSA – “Victim Of Yourself” Album Cover Artwork And Track Listing Revealed!

Posted in Heavy Metal, heavy metal bands, Metal, metal bands, metal music, Music, news, rock music, rock music news, Thrash Metal, thrash metal bands, world news with tags , , , , , , , , on January 19, 2014 by Metal Odyssey

Nervosa - Victim Of Yourself - promo album pic - 2014

Check out the artwork for the upcoming NERVOSA album Victim of Yourself, done by Andrei Bouzikov!

Pre-orders are available too! Check out the different editions at:

Right after making one song of their new album ‘Victim of Yourself’ available for free download on the internet, the band NERVOSA now announces its track list.

Their first full-length album will have 12 tracks, including the song ‘Into Moshpit’, which was released this past week by their label, the Austrian Napalm Records. Download it here:

Check out the tracks sequence of Victim of Yourself:

01 – Intro

02 – Twisted Values

03 – Justice Be Done

04 – Wake up and Fight

05 – Nasty Injury

06 – Envious

07 – Morbid Courage

08 – Death!

09 – Into Moshpit

10 – Deep misery

11 – Victim of Yourself

12 – Urânio em Nós

The album’s release dates will be soon announced as well as other info about it.

Nervosa - band publicity pic - ianadomingos - #6677 - 2013

Fernanda Lira – Vocals & Bass

Prika Amaral – Guitars & Backing Vocals

Pitchu Ferraz – Drums

Nervosa - band logo - red on black - large - 2013

* NERVOSA are from São Paulo, Brazil.

* For more info on NERVOSA:

Facebook: Nervosa Thrash


Napalm Records - logo - B&W - 2013

(Source: Napalm Records)



* For more info on Andrei Bouzikov:

 Facebook: Andrei Bouzikov

Stone - Motorhead Tee  pic:small






%d bloggers like this: