Archive for reaper

REAPER “An Atheist Monument” – Album Is: Stone’s METAL Pick Of The Day!

Posted in Heavy Metal, metal music, Music, music news, rock music, rock music news with tags , , , , , , on July 6, 2014 by Metal Odyssey

Reaper - An Atheist Monument - promo cover pic

5 Out Of 5 METAL Fists!


REAPER – German Metal legends REAPER have a new studio album releasing via Massacre Records, on July 25th, 2014. An Atheist Monument is this new album and it’s overflowing with ALL things grand about Heavy Metal! This new offering from REAPER has me psyched-out of my Metal mind; air guitar and air drums enthusiasts take notice! Powerful, melodic and laced with retro vibes and sounds of True Metal, REAPER has scored in a titanic way with An Atheist Monument.

Daniel Zimmermann (guitar) and Benjamin “Benni” Lodewig (guitar & backing vocals) are Metal sensations to take in; their muscular riffs, memorable leads and solos are Heavy Metal personified. Damn great stuff. Jan Breede (drums & backing vocals) plays the song and adds an incredible dynamic to this entire album; he’s a Metal treat to listen to. Matthias “Mäfju” Kraft (bass & backing vocals) adds his musical thunder and combined with Jan Breede’s drumming it’s a headbanging Metal experience to behold!

Reaper - promo band pic - 2014 - #8738

Daniel Zimmermann also is the lead vocalist and he sings like a Metal giant! His vocals are stuff of conquer all and death to the Metal posers. I believe my Metal brethren reading this know what I mean and it’s Metal truth.  Twelve delectable Heavy Metal songs are on the CD, with nine songs on the LP version. Hetoimasia is this album’s instrumental opener and it signals that the Metal power-surge is on! I just knew it was gonna be a great Metal ride upon my first listen and it only gets better with each Metal serving. Whoa.

Being their 5th studio album overall and first with Massacre Records, REAPER could not have found a better record label to call home. Celebrating their 30th anniversary on stage with this new album should catapult REAPER into our community’s Metal limelight; buying this mandatory Metal work and spreading the Metal word about REAPER should be on every Metalhead’s to-do list in 2014! REAPER waves the anti-religion flag with mega Metal potency and they have my Metal respect. Hail REAPER and Metal be thy name! – Stone

Reaper - An Atheist Monument - promo cover pic

An Atheist Monument – Track Listing:

1. Hetoimasia 
2. Realms Of Chaos
 3. Of Sheep And Shepherds 4. Horse Brigade
 5. Hail The New Age
 6. Voice Within
 7. 1943
 8. Well Of Poison
 9. Taste My Revenge
 10. Ship Of Fools
 11. Fields Of Joy 
12. La Tristesse

Taste My Revenge, Fields Of Joy
 and La Tristesse are the three songs that do not appear on the LP version of An Atheist Monument.

Reaper - classic band logo - 2014 - #9902

* For more info on REAPER:

Facebook: REAPER (Band)

Massacre Records - large logo! Red:black:white


Stone - Motorhead Tee  pic:small






REAPER – German Metal Warriors Signs To Massacre Records

Posted in Heavy Metal, metal bands, metal music, music news, rock music, rock music news with tags , , , , , on May 6, 2014 by Metal Odyssey

Reaper - photo credit - Leif Lohne - 2014

REAPER – Photo credit: Leif Lohne

From Massacre Records:

We’re delighted to announce the signing of REAPER from Germany!

The journey of REAPER began back in 1984 when Peter “Onkel Eff” Fickert (drums), Andreas Maus (guitar), Robert Kölling (guitar) und Matthias “Mäfju” Kraft (bass) decided to make music together. Within the first months, Robert Kölling was replaced by Daniel Zimmermann and singer Thomas Bennecke joined the band’s ranks.

Soon after the band’s formation, the band started to release first demos as well as the debut album “Beyond All Time” in 1990 via Bellaphon. The studio albums “The Years Within” (1992 via Mausoleum) and “Gardens Of Seth” (2009 via STF Records) followed, as well as other demos and CD Compilations.

The band’s line-up changed in the following years, currently featuring Daniel Zimmermann (lead vocals, guitar), Matthias Kraft (bass, backing vocals), Benni Lodewig (guitar, backing vocals) and Jan Breede (drums).

In the past 30 years, REAPER played a lot of gigs and were part of festivals such as the Ragnarock Open Air, Power Of Metal Festival, Masters Of Cassel and Swordbrothers Festival.

REAPER’s upcoming 4th full-length album “An Atheist Monument” is set to be released in late July via Massacre Records!


* For more info on REAPER:

Massacre Records - large logo! Red:black:white

Stone - Motorhead Tee  pic:small






%d bloggers like this: